Skip to content
Schedule Live Demo
Schedule Live Demo
Schedule Live Demo
Back to Resource Center

Systems Integrator – Phasing in a new Type…of Labor that is! A preview of things to come with our next release “v20”.

Insights
Less than 3 min read Minute Read
April 20, 2024
Systems Integrator – Phasing in a new Type…of Labor that is! A preview of things to come with our next release “v20”.

With D-Tools Systems Integrator v20 pending, we thought it would be prudent to offer a preview of one of the forthcoming enhancements to the longstanding SI platform. This new feature, Labor Types, is a fundamental change in how SI aggregates labor designations in an SI Project. Phases, while still a feature, will be removed from the calculation of labor values and instead will serve as a deployment designation.


For longtime users of SI, this will be something of a real change in terms of applying and then subsequently analyzing your labor evaluations. However, it is for the betterment of all users that this application has been developed. Intrigued yet? Then please keep reading.

 

What to consider before you upgrade to SI v20?

  • What is the current definition of a Phase in SI v19?
  • What does the Phase distinction in SI v19 offer?
  • What is a Labor Type in SI v20?
  • What does this Labor Type offer in SI v20?
  • And finally, what happens to Phases in SI v20?

All above are very pertinent for your team to evaluate as you consider upgrading to SI v20 so we’ll take them one at a time.

D-Tools SI v19

What is a Phase?
Traditionally in SI, a phase has had a 2-fold application. Those being, the designation of when an item could be deployed as well as using that assignment to determine the labor “add-on” to the item itself.

Screen Shot 2023-02-20 at 10.28.47 AM

The result would be an Installed Price estimation that would then begin to total labor hours and dollars in your SI Projects:

Screen Shot 2023-02-20 at 10.29.16 AM

SI v20 Preview – Labor Types will now perform this execution.

What does the Phase distinction in SI v19 offer?
This is really the “crux” of the application in SI. Once a phase is designated for a Product or Labor item, and that item is then placed into an SI Project, the aggregation of such values can begin.

Screen Shot 2023-02-20 at 10.30.48 AM

These values not only apply at the line item level, but then contribute to the overall data aggregation for the entire project:

TOTM 02.2023.5

Above image is from the default Project Summary report.

Beyond this, Phases could then be used for various reports, project data organization, and then “the big enchilada” – deployment:

Screen Shot 2023-02-20 at 10.31.25 AM


The above image shows filtering by Phase to determine what items could be placed on a Task work order.

While we have all enjoyed and benefited over the years from this Phase usage, we now all await SI v20’s release and the opportunity for further allocations and usage scenarios of labor evaluations.

D-Tools SI v20release date pending

What is a Labor Type in SI v20?
Well put simply, a Labor Type is the same thing that a Phase is (or was depending on when you read this).

Screen Shot 2023-02-20 at 10.31.47 AM


Above here, you see an image from SI v20 where you can manage your Labor Types. This was previously were users would manage Phases. These Labor Types can be used exactly as the prior phases were used which leads us to…

What does this Labor Type offer in SI v20?
Without being redundant, the Labor Type will work the same way as the phases have in prior releases of SI. But that is not all…hence the reason for the feature enhancement.


Upon upgrading to SI v20, multiple Labor Types will then be able to be applied to any one item. Where the Phase application was limited to one item per Phase (or one Phase per item), Labor Types will not have that restriction and will allow SI users to have a single Product (or Labor item) with multiple labor evaluations.
TOTM 02.2023.7

Let’s take an equipment rack for example.

TOTM 02.2023.8

This item could require pre-assembly in that you have to assemble it prior to delivery to the site. It then could have a pre-built Phase where by you place shelving and appropriate equipment into the rack (again ahead of actual deployment).


Continuing on, a delivery burden could then be applied prior to the actual installation of the rack.
So by this structure, you could have (4) different Labor Types applied to the item that all contribute to the aggregation of the labor generated by the labor hour time present on the item per labor type.

This image sums up the above text explanation very well:

Screen Shot 2023-02-20 at 10.32.28 AM


A close-up of the Labor Type section reveals how all (4) labor endeavors will be applied in SI v20:

TOTM 02.2023.10

And finally, what happens to Phases in SI v20?
Well fortunately, Phases will still exist in SI in v20 and beyond. The application will now refer expressly to when an item is deployed and will not contribute to any aspect of labor burden calculations.

TOTM 02.2023.11

As seen above here, the designation will be found on the General tab of your Catalog items.


In Summation…

  • Upon the release of SI v20, Phases will now be an item deployment designation only.
  • Labor Types will now replace the data aggregation burden of labor for all assigned items.
  • As a result, multiple Labor Types will have the possibility of being added to a single item. 
  • SI users will thus then be able to churn several labor burdens per item as such are added to their Projects.                    

With all of that said, there’s still plenty more in store for you with SI’s v20 product release so keep an eye out for future updates.

As always, we are reviewing your Feature Requests to determine our best step forward and next course of action with future SI product releases so…“keep’em coming”!



In closing…

For more information on these and other features of SI v19, please see this link: D-Tools v19. You can also review our other videos and our usual support documentation.

You can also get more detailed information about v19 via our upcoming webinars and by enrolling in SI training with our PSG team.

And don’t forget, that’s why we are here…to ensure your success with our product! Be sure to check back here next month for more on v20!!!

Doug

 

Estimate, Design and Install with the #1 AV System Integration Software

Explore System Integration Software Used by Nearly 7,000 Companies

Schedule Live Demo

Related Resources

Interested in More?

Sign up for our newsletter to stay up to date with the latest news,press announcements and more from D-Tools.